h1

happiness is laughter and. . . .

March 7, 2011

Rawr!  i was going to post my answers to the questions i asked yesterday but my body decided that my hour nap wasn’t enough, so i unknowingly shut the alarm off and just kept sleeping with all the lights on.

 

Luckily 5:30 in the morning feeling like sleeping in to me because i usually get up at 3.  So here i am now.

 

Comfort books:  i have a couple.

My all-time comfort book is She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb, i can’t even count the number of times i’ve read that book.  Something about it just makes me feel like the world isn’t so crazy anymore.  i also have the audio version of it (even though it’s abridged and i hate that) so i can listen in the car or on my iPod if i need to.

 

i also sometimes go to The Saskiad by Brian Hall.  i don’t really talk about that book much and i’ve never heard anyone else mention it before but there is something about it that i just keep going back to.  Maybe because it has some of the same qualities as She’s Come Undone where there is so much craziness in the book that it makes me see how little i have to deal with.

 

Then there are my fluff books for when i need a book that i don’t really have to think much about.  For me those would be the Gossip Girl books and the A-List books.  This started years ago when i had to leave an awesome weeklong trip to New York after less than 24 hours because i broke my foot.  i ended up sitting around a lot and discovered both series.  They were just so fun and ridiculous (to me) and i didn’t have to think about anything.  Sometimes i need that.

 

And of course there are my picture books that i turn to.  Lyle, Lyle, Crocodile.  If You Give a Moose a Muffin, Dog Heaven, 39 Uses for a Friend (my best friend gave me this when i was having a tough time in college and wrote little notes in it for me), Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, Diary of a Worm, and of course, Olivia.

 

As far as immediate buy books:  this is harder now because i’ve been trying really hard not to buy so many books (or spend money in any way) so there are really only two.  You probably know who they are.

 

Wally Lamb and David Levithan.   *swoon*

 

But if i had unlimited cash flow i would add the following: (i usually get these from the library as fast as possible)

 

Fannie Flagg, E.L. Konigsburg, Ellen Hopkins, Sherman Alexie, John Green, Rachel Cohn, Joan Bauer, and Laurie Halse Anderson

 

 

That’s it for now, i’m off to relax for a bit before i run a bazillion errands today.

Leave a comment